This Week in Geek (05/23/16–05/29/16)

This Week in Geek (05/23/16-05/29/16)

Welcome to This Week in Geek, your guide to events of interest to the Minnesota geek community for the week of Monday, May 23rd through Sunday, May 29th.

YogaQuest Continues

What: Sport & Fitness
When: Tuesday, May 24th at 7:00 p.m.
Where: YQdio

YogaQuest is “a unique blend of yoga and fan-fiction storytelling . . . unlike any yoga class you may have experienced before!” Guided by a certified yoga instructor who also serves as narrator, the class “embarks on an epic and often ridiculous journey through a popular fandom.” This week, the theme is “Choose Your Own Adventure.”

555 Reads

What: Meet-Up, Books
When: Tuesday, May 24th at 8:00 p.m.
Where: Five Watt Coffee

At 555 Reads, five writers have five minutes to read from their work at Five Watt Coffee! This month’s writers who will be reading are Anders Carlson-Wee, Kinzy Janssen, Junauda Petrus, Nneka Onwuzurike, and Sun Yung Shin.

Minneapolis Book Club: The Mists of Avalon

What: Meet-Up, Books
When: Wednesday, May 25th at 7:00 p.m.
Where: Kieran’s Irish Pub

The Minneapolis Book Club, Conversations & Cocktails group will be hosting a meet-up this Wednesday night at 7:00 p.m. The book in focus at this meeting is The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Wibbly Wobbly Wednesdays: Doctor Who Trivia

What: Trivia, TV
When: Wednesday, May 25th at 7:00 p.m.
Where: Driftwood Char Bar

The producers of TC Trek Trivia invite you and your companions to explore the strange new world of Wibbly Wobbly Wednesdays, the only pub trivia in the Twin Cities dedicated to Doctor Who! Following the tried-and-true format of TC Trek Trivia, Wibbly Wobbly Wednesdays will consist of five rounds: Classic Who (focusing on the first eight Doctors), Jelly Babies (for which you will be asked to identify the image), Contemporary Who (Ninth Doctor forward), Don’t Blink (for which you will be asked to complete the quote), and Bad Wolf (focusing on companions and villains).

Minneapolis Comic Book Club: Locke and Key

What: Meet-Up, Comics
When: Wednesday, May 25th at 8:00 p.m.
Where: Dreamers Vault Games

The Minneapolis Comic Book Club is hosting a meetup for its members at Dreamers Vault Games this Wednesday night at 8:00 p.m. The group will be discussing Locke and Key: Crown of Shadows and Locke and Key: Keys to the Kingdom by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez.

Crafty Geek Meetup

What: Meet-Up, Crafts
When: Thursday, May 26th at 7:00 p.m.
Where: Waterbury Center

The Geek Partnership Society’s Crafty Geek club and its sub-club Make It Sew meet Thursday evenings at the Waterbury Center and invite you to “bring your crafty stuff to do” or to “hang out and work with the crafty stuff we have here!”

Weekly Comics Chat

What: Meet-Up, Comics
When: Thursday, May 26th at 7:00 p.m.
Where: Kitty Cat Klub

The Girls-Only Comic Club hosts a Weekly Comics Chat on Thursday nights at the Kitty Cat Klub, where there will be “Coffee! Comics! Waffles! Talking!” Additional information about this event is posted on the Girls Only Comics Club’s Facebook group; individuals interested in attending are encouraged to join.

Magic: The Gathering Grand Prix Minneapolis

What: Convention, Gaming
When: Friday, May 27th–Sunday, May 29th
Where: Minneapolis Convention Center

A Magic: The Gathering Grand Prix tournament is being held in Minneapolis this Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Grand Prix tournaments are “worldwide open events that allow all Magic: The Gathering players to participate and experience the thrill of a large-scale competition.” There will be something for everyone who attends this event, from “casual players who are looking for some 2HG and Commander” to “competitive players looking to get to the Pro Tour.”

MantiCon 2016

What: Convention, Science Fiction
When: Friday, May 27th–Sunday, May 29th
Where: Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America

MantiCon is a convention “designed as a celebration of military science fiction literature” that takes its name from author David Weber’s series of books featuring Honor Harrington, “a heroine in the vein of C. S. Forester and Patrick O’Brien.” The convention is not exclusively Weber based, however, and “includes other franchises such as Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica, and other military sci-fi universes.” Guests at this year’s convention will include Walter H. Hunt, Manu Interaymi, and Marko Kloos.

WisCon 2016

What: Convention, Science Fiction
When: Friday, May 27th–Monday, May 30th
Where: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor’s Club (Madison, WI)

WisCon is “a 1,000-member science fiction convention with a feminist/social justice focus” held in Madison, Wisconsin, over Memorial Day weekend. Every year attendees of the convention “celebrate, dissect, and transform speculative literature, television, film, comics, and games,” with a specific aim “to foster conversations about feminism(s), gender, race, disability, and class.” Guests of honor at this year’s convention include Nalo Hopkinson, Justine Larbalestier, and Sofia Samatar.

Saturday Morning Cartoons

What: Sport & Fitness
When: Saturday, May 28th at 10:00 a.m.
Where: YQdio

Another event held at the YogaQuest YQdio is Saturday Morning Cartoons, which features “classic (and not-so-classic) Saturday morning cartoons, plus yoga, plus the stupidest cereals in existence!” The yoga practice will consist of “some gentle wake-me-up vinyasa followed by a session of stretchy, restorative yoga, all set to cartoons, and wrapped up with a bowl of delicious technicolor goodness.”

Open Studio

What: Meet-Up, Arts, Comics
When: Saturday, May 28th at 12:00 p.m.
Where: Minnesota Center for Book Arts

The Cartoonists Conspiracy will be hosting an open studio event this week at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts. Fellow conspirators are encouraged to bring concepts or works in progress to work on and get ideas or feedback and to network and engage in “general geek talk.” Coffee, tea, beer, wine, and food will be available at this event.

Black Hat Collective Quarterly Meetup

What: Meet-Up, Arts, Comics
When: Saturday, May 28th at 1:00 p.m.
Where: Waterbury Center

The Black Hat Collective (the Geek Partnership Society’s graphic-artist club) will be meeting this Saturday to “engage in constructive peer critique to improve as artists and writers,” to “produce the best weird little comics we can,” and to “consume punch and pie.”

Transvestite Soup Presents The Rocky Horror Picture Show

What: Screening, Movies, Theater & Comedy
When: Saturday, May 28th at 11:59 p.m.
Where: Uptown Theatre

At 11:59 p.m. on the last Saturday of every month, the Uptown Theatre screens The Rocky Horror Picture Show, “the longest running midnight movie of all time.” Transvestite Soup is the Twin Cities’ “shadow cast” for the showings, performing for your pleasure as part of the cult classic’s well-established tradition.

Gender Jam

What: Meet-Up, LGBTQA+
When: Sunday, May 29th at 12:45 p.m.
Where: Dreamers Vault Games

Gender Jam “is a safe space for Trans, Gender Non-Conforming, Questioning & Intersex teens to hang out and create community” that meets on the last Sunday of every month. You can meet up with the group this Sunday at Dreamers Vault Games “to play video games, look at comic books, play board/card games, snack, and be together.” Permission slips are needed for attendees under the age of 18; see the event on our Community Calendar (which you can reach by clicking the event title above) for more information.

So, which of these events will you be attending? What events would you like to see featured in the future? Let us know in the comments section below or contact us via email. And don’t forget to add your events to the Twin Cities Geek Community Calendar!

Leave a Comment

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!