Books

Reviews of both new release and older books from many different genres including science fiction, fantasy, horror, young adult, and nonfiction.

I Read the Top 10 Most Challenged Books of 2016 So You Don’t Have To

Happy Banned Books Week! The American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom reported 323 challenges last year, and the top 10 are clearly very bad books, indeed. Otherwise why would they have gotten so many challenges? Below I will go through these books and confirm exactly why they are so terrible and why you never, ever should read them. The reasons the books were challenged are taken directly from the ALA’s website. 1. This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki,...

Wild Times Brings the History of WildStorm to Bookshelves

It wasn’t part of the initial plan, but when the calendar rolled over to 2017, writer Joseph Hedges knew his new book, Wild Times: An Oral History of WildStorm Studios, would release at the right time to coincide with the 25th anniversary of Image Comics. “By the time I was wrapping up the interviews, it was coming down right to the end of 2016, I was finishing up the manuscript, and I said, ‘Well, you know, it’s not such...

Crafting the Resistance Goes beyond the Pussyhat

January’s Women’s March, during Trump’s inauguration, saw millions of protesters wearing pink hats with ears. The original “pussyhat” pattern was created by Kat Coyle, although it’s a common kind of pattern; knit or sew a rectangular bag and put it on a spherical head and voilà! Ears form! Coyle’s hat has over 11,000 individual projects on Ravelry, and that’s just one pattern—and that number only includes the knitters who are on Ravelry. But women’s marches aren’t the only kinds...

Neil deGrasse Tyson’s Latest Book Makes Astrophysics Dead Simple

Astrophysics for People in a Hurry is Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s newest book, released in May and meant to teach basic astrophysics to a general audience. It might be a little too simple for people who already know a bit about the topic, but for curious people with no background in astrophysics, it breaks down the science very well in one 208-page volume. A lot of its style and tone is Biblical: “In the beginning, nearly fourteen billion years ago,...

24 Romance Novels for Geeks of All Kinds

Summer is more than halfway over, but in no possible way is it winding down. There are many more weekends to spend at the cabin or hiding away inside air conditioning, whatever your preference is, and what’s the traditional kind of book to read by the pool? Romance novels, of course. “But Stephanie,” you might say. “I don’t want to read about a billionaire cattle rancher or whatever and his supermodel girlfriend!” Well, first, lay off my Harlequin Presents,...

A Minnesota Author Imagines Intergalactic Battles with a Cosmic Entity in Wolf of the Tesseract

Ever since playing Arkham Horror with my brother, I can’t get enough of the Cthulhu mythos. I was at Blizzard World ComiCon in February of this year, and Christopher Schmitz overheard me discussing with another creator about Cthulhu. He attracted my attention and sold me on his novel Wolf of the Tesseract. He gave me a guarantee that I would really enjoy reading his book if I was as obsessed with Cthulhu as I had mentioned earlier. Months passed as I prepared for...

Experience Unexpected Darkness in Neverland with Lost Boy: The True Story of Captain Hook

Captain Hook is a bad guy. Peter Pan is a good guy. This is what we know, whether our education comes from Disney’s beloved Peter Pan of 1953; 1991’s Hook, in which the title character is played with dastardly relish by Dustin Hoffman; or J. M. Barrie’s plays and novels of the early 20th century, in which the character of Peter Pan was created. Regardless of the origin of our knowledge, this is what we all know. Or, should...

In Winter’s Kitchen Combines Homey Recipes and Midwestern Nostalgia

Six months after I moved from Seattle back to the Twin Cities, I was in a winter-induced funk. Every time I stepped outside into frigid, January air, I wanted to run screaming back to the misty Pacific Northwest, where winter is indeed dark, but at least I could leave my house without feeling like the wind was searing my lungs in half. I was deeply homesick for a home I hadn’t known long, but one that had left its...

Cyn Collins Chronicles the Birth of Punk and Indie Rock in Minneapolis

Before Prince put Minneapolis on the national music map with Purple Rain, and before the Replacements broke away from Twin/Tone Records to experience what a major label had to offer, the Minneapolis music scene was small, intimate, and building to explode. In Complicated Fun: The Birth of Minneapolis Punk and Indie Rock, 1974–1984, Cyn Collins documents space and time by exploring the memories of the misfits who were inspired by what they were hearing from England, Detroit, and New...

Minnesota Fans of Harry Dresden Will Love Pipe and Pestle

Imagine a book series with a broody Harry Dresden–like character roaming around Minneapolis and blending in with various supernatural creatures. Minnesota writer Joseph Weinberg has achieved this task by creating a story that’s refreshing and thrilling in Pipe and Pestle, the first of a series. Protagonist Sam Archer is employed at his mythical store, the Swain Paige, when the beautiful Ella Saint Claire stops by. She is interested in purchasing a very specific artifact from and wants Sam to purchase...
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!